top of page
  • Writer's picturePress Corps

Interview with UNSC Head Chair, Beihua

By Keerthana Reddy, Press Editor


Beihua bid goodbye to the last of A-level exams last year and is looking to enter

university, as soon as whatever nonsense the Central Manpower Base has to offer is

done with. Freed from the shackles of school, Beihua relishes the opportunity to freely study anything under the sun, such as literature, driving and his career options (by binging, as a Humanities student, five seasons of Grey’s Anatomy in two weeks). Keerthi chats with him about his MUN experience and thoughts on this year’s UNSC.




1. How did you start MUN-ning in general?


It was back in sec 3 when there was a MUN interest group? I just signed up for it without actually knowing much of what it was... I attended my first MUN without making a single speech so that was a big oof but the opportunity to debate exciting global issues we’ll never touch in schools really drew me in, and here I am!


2. How did you get involved in SMUN 2021?


There was this fine day in December when I was scrolling through Instagram... I saw one of the academics directors’ Instagram story pleading FOR people to sign up because they were apparently short of people and since I had just graduated JC, I really needed something to keep my brain alive... and I felt that the rigour that would be involved in drafting a study guide would be excellent for that. So I’d say it’s a win-win.


Also, I was in SMUN 2019 but I tried too hard and got a VC. I’m still salty.


3. What has your most memorable MUN experience been and why?


I’d say it would be RMUN 2018! I was in the security council as a delegate there as well and it was full of very respectable delegates who really stretched me beyond what I had experienced intellectually and oratorically up until then. It was a difficult but definitely exhilarating experience as my bloc mates and I constantly tried to rise to the challenge—it made for a great bonding experience too! my bloc remains friends largely even today.


4. Given what’s special about UNSC, what are your thoughts about the Israel Palestine conflict and how relevant do you think it is to the committee?

I won’t say I’m the best person to comment on the Israel Palestine conflict per se, but the issue certainly demonstrates the relevance of MUN to the world today—the challenges of ceasefires we will be discussing are no stranger to the conflict in Palestine, and the urgency and shall I say cruelty of the issue just reminds us that what we are discussing viscerally impacts real lives and are not abstract ideas on paper.


I also think the persistent unrest in Palestine despite numerous past efforts for peace reminds us that peace is more complicated than the technicalities of ceasefires and the tactics of negotiation; every conflict is different and often rooted in longstanding historical and structural concerns that demand a sensitive and knowledgeable approach.


[Quote: every conflict is different and often rooted in longstanding historical and structural concerns that demand a sensitive and knowledgeable approach.]


5. What is your worst fear about the conference?


I think it would be if a delegate gives me a point of order and it turns out that they are right. That would be extremely embarrassing.


6. If you could have only one cuisine for the rest of your life what would it be and why?


I think it would be Sichuan cuisine? I love the fiery chilli and how they can create all sorts of subtle different flavours with all their different spices. It’s not all just “Mala Xiang Guo” people.


Actually, I take that back. I don’t want my mouth to be burnt all day. Brunch food would be nice.


45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A Tribute to SMUN Press

As I write this, I feel that strange sense of melancholy and nostalgia that one gets when any MUN conference ends. While my time as a press chair was hectic and chaotic, it was equally as fulfilling a

bottom of page